Jotun's Green Building products contribute to achieving credits in the major green building standards.

Leed V4 logo on gray background


Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is one of the main international green building standards. More than 110,000 projects across 180 countries and territories participate in the LEED system for certifying green product criteria. In terms of the LEED criteria, paints and coatings can contribute up to 27% of the credits required for certification. These points may be accumulated across 3 categories.

Sustainable Sites

Sites are deemed sustainable if they minimise harm to microclimates and human and wildlife habitats by reducing heat islands. Careful site selection can earn you up to 2 LEED points.

Indoor Environmental Quality

Low-emitting materials can have a positive impact on air quality, human health, productivity, and the environment. Using paints and coatings like this can earn you up to 3 LEED points.

Materials and Resources

LEED encourages the use of products for which the environmental impact can be verified. You can earn 1 LEED point for documenting material ingredients, and 1 LEED point for Environmental Product Declaration. In total, building product disclosure and optimisation can earn you up to 2 LEED points.

How to increase your LEED points?

Product selection

Adequate forward planning ensures you select products with the mimimum impact on human health and the environment.


Obtaining Product-specific Type III EPDs enables you to certify the environmental impact of specific products.


Optimising credits earned on specific products increases the likelihood of achieving certification.

Popular green standards

BREEAM logo on gray background


BREEAM is one of the world’s leading sustainability assessment methods for building, infrastructure and masterplan projects. The standard is used in 77 countries on thousands of projects and has become a globally recognised standard.

ESTIDAMA logo on gray background


Estidama, which means sustainability in Arabic, is a key aspect of the Abu Dhabi Vision 2030 to build the emirate according to green standards. While not a green building rating system such as LEED or BREEAM, Estidama is an elective building code that contains the Pearl Rating System and is mandatory in Abu Dhabi.

BCA Green Mark Scheme logo on gray background

BCA Green Mark Scheme

The BCA Green Mark Scheme is an initiative aimed at driving Singapore's construction industry towards more environment-friendly buildings. The scheme uses internationally recognised best practices in environmental design and performance as its basis.

Green Building Index logo on gray background

Green Building Index (GBI)

The Green Building Index (GBI) is the recognised green rating tool for buildings in Malaysia. It aims to to promote sustainability and raise awareness of environmental issues among developers, architects, engineers, planners, designers, contractors and the public.

GRIHA logo on gray background


GRIHA was adopted by the Government of India in 2007 as the national rating system for green buildings and attempts to minimise resource consumption, waste generation, and the overall ecological impact of buildings to within certain nationally acceptable limits.

Ready to start specifying green?

Do you want to know more about our products and how we can help you? Leave your contact details here and we’ll get in touch.